7 AI Clinical Notes Apps Compared for UK Therapists
AI therapy notes tools have changed a lot in the past two years. What started as basic transcription has become a useful drafting assistant that can turn a session or a short summary into a structured SOAP, DAP or BIRP note.
For UK therapists, the market has two halves. Some tools were built for the US first, around HIPAA and USD pricing. Others are UK-hosted or sold as add-ons to practice management systems that UK therapists already use. Either can work, as long as you get clear answers on data and UK GDPR.
We make NoteSono, so weigh our view accordingly. We've used facts from each vendor's own pages, checked in October 2026; prices change, so re-check before you buy.
What we compared
- Data: where it is stored and processed, ICO registration and DPA
- Session recording: whether the tool records sessions, and whether it offers a summary or dictation route
- Note formats
- Pricing, and whether it is in GBP
- Free plan or trial
1. NoteSono: notes-first, no recording
Price: Free; Essentials £14.99/month; Pro £24.99/month | ICO registered: Yes | Data: notes stored in the EU
NoteSono is built for UK private practice. It is ICO registered (ZC045529) and stores your notes in the EU. Some AI processing uses providers outside the UK and EU under data processing terms that exclude training on your data. It works from a post-session summary: you speak or type a summary after the client leaves, and the AI drafts a clinical note for you to review. NoteSono does not record your sessions.
It supports 20 clinical note formats: SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, Narrative, Brief, Intake, Discharge, Risk, Formulation, Supervision, EMDR, CBT, Schema, Person-Centred, Integrative, Psychodynamic, Couples, Family and Group. SOAP, DAP, BIRP and Intake are on the free plan; all 20 come with Essentials and Pro. Pro adds a calendar, invoicing and CPD tracking.
Best for: UK therapists who want a notes-first tool without session recording
Free option: Start free — 5 notes a month, no card, no time limit — with a 7-day trial of everything whenever you want it
2. Heidi: ambient scribe with UK hosting
Price: Free plan; paid tiers priced in USD | ICO registered: Yes | Data: hosted in the UK
Heidi is an ambient AI scribe used widely in UK healthcare. Its UK compliance page states ICO registration, DTAC compliance, Cyber Essentials and data hosted within the UK. Its free plan includes unlimited transcription with standard templates, and it also supports dictation. It is a general clinical scribe rather than a therapy-specific tool, so check its therapy templates fit your modality.
Best for: Therapists who are comfortable recording sessions and want UK hosting
3. Upheal: recording and session analytics
Price: Free; AI Notes £29/month; EHR Pro £69/month | ICO registered: Ask Upheal | Data: AWS, region not stated on the pages we reviewed
Upheal records sessions (through its telehealth or in person) on AI Notes and above, and supports dictation and uploads on every plan, including Free. It adds session analytics, such as speaking balance and silences, and its EHR Pro tier adds practice management. Its privacy policy states GDPR compliance and offers an EU/UK DPA. See our NoteSono vs Upheal comparison.
Best for: Therapists who want session recording, telehealth and analytics
4. Mentalyc: broad templates and analytics
Price: $19.99 to $119.99/month (USD), with note caps | ICO registered: Ask Mentalyc | Data: US company; ask where data is stored
Mentalyc records sessions and also accepts uploads, dictated recaps and typed descriptions on every plan. It offers alliance reports and symptom trends, with BIRP, GIRP, PIE and EMDR templates from its Pro tier. Its pricing page lists HIPAA, PHIPA and SOC 2 Type II, with no UK GDPR claim, so a UK therapist should ask about UK terms and the transfer to the US. It offers a 14-day trial. See our NoteSono vs Mentalyc comparison.
Best for: Therapists who want cross-session analytics and a broad template library
5. WriteUpp AI Scribe: add-on to UK practice management
Price: AI Scribe £23.95/user/month, or £49.95 with the Solo plan | Data: ask WriteUpp where AI processing happens
WriteUpp is a UK practice management system. Its AI Scribe add-on supports live recording, recording inside video calls and dictation, with SOAP, DAP, BIRP, brief progress note or free-form output. WriteUpp says its AI is built in-house; it didn't disclose the model provider or processing region on the pages we reviewed. There is a 30-day free trial. See our NoteSono vs WriteUpp comparison.
Best for: Therapists who want notes, booking, SMS reminders and invoicing in one UK system
6. Jane AI Scribe: add-on with London hosting
Price: £15/practitioner/month add-on (5 free notes a month) on a Jane plan from £29/month | Data: UK clinics' data stored in London
Jane is a Canadian practice management platform with UK pricing. It states UK GDPR compliance and stores UK clinics' data in London. Its AI Scribe records sessions, or you can dictate a summary instead, and Jane says AI data is not used for training.
Best for: Clinics and practitioners who want full practice management with an AI add-on
7. AutoNotes: free tier, US-based
Price: Free tier and paid tiers (USD) | Data: United States
AutoNotes is a popular US tool that works from typed input, with a free tier. It is run by AutoNotes AI, LLC, with data residency in the US. It signs a Business Associate Agreement with customers who use protected health information in the app, where PHI is permitted. Those are US HIPAA arrangements, so a UK therapist should ask whether it offers a UK GDPR DPA and which transfer mechanism applies.
Best for: Therapists who want a free, typed-input tool and have checked the UK GDPR position
Summary comparison
| Tool | Data | Records sessions | Free option | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NoteSono | EU storage; some AI processing outside UK/EU | No (summary) | Free plan | Free / £14.99 / £24.99 |
| Heidi | UK hosted | Yes; dictation too | Free plan | Paid tiers in USD |
| Upheal | Region not stated; EU/UK DPA | Optional | Free plan | Free / £29 / £69 |
| Mentalyc | US company | Optional | 14-day trial | $19.99 to $119.99 |
| WriteUpp AI Scribe | Ask WriteUpp | Optional | 30-day trial | £23.95 add-on |
| Jane AI Scribe | London | Optional | 5 notes/month on a Jane plan | £15 add-on |
| AutoNotes | United States | No (typed) | Free tier | USD tiers |
Our recommendation for UK therapists
If you'd rather not record sessions and want a notes-first tool built in the UK, priced in pounds with a free plan, NoteSono was built for that. If you're happy to record and want UK hosting, Heidi is worth a look. If you want everything in one practice system, compare WriteUpp's and Jane's AI Scribe add-ons. Whatever you choose, tell clients you use it and get clear answers on where their data goes.
NoteSono's free plan is an easy place to start: no card and no time limit. Create a free account
Related guides
- AI SOAP notes and UK GDPR
- BACP and AI clinical notes
- Upheal alternative for UK therapists
- Mentalyc alternative for UK therapists
- AutoNotes alternative for UK therapists
- AI session notes for UK counsellors
- SimplePractice alternative for UK therapists
See also our guide to choosing clinical notes software, which covers the criteria rather than the products.
Related guides for UK therapists
Write your next note from a short summary
NoteSono formats your voice summary into a structured clinical note: SOAP, DAP, BIRP and more. We don't record your sessions.
Create a free accountFree plan, no card needed